top of page
RTA MOVES.jpg

Rolando Toro Araneda

Founder of Biodanza

"Biodanza began inconspicuously in my life. Then it gradually gained momentum, aroused people's interest, brought about surprising changes in some of the participants, and above all, it created a sense of rebirth and hope in life."

"Each person's life is an act of creation at every moment and thus borders on the extraordinary. Love itself is a creative expression of one's personality."​

 

Rolando Toro Araneda

Coming from a family of educators, Toro himself has been teaching for years in schools in various places in Chile. He discovers that in many schools there is no connection between the students and the subject matter offered. Toro's didactic vision focused on new forms of learning based on direct life experience. But the special value of Toro's method was affectivity and the enjoyment of learning and life as an impulse. Here he already touched on the source of intrinsic motivation: enjoying and learning from a human connection about a theme that warms you up.

 

This did not exclude disciplines of an intellectual nature. It was a matter of integrating intelligence with affectivity (respecting oneself and others and working together). This methodology will later lead to what we find in Biodanza as "vivencial or biocentric method" and from which he will develop the concept of Affective Intelligence.

He also paid attention of developing the creative abilities of his students and he always looked for opportunities to give all the innate talents of children and young people the space to develop.

The step to psychology followed logically from this. At the end of the 1960s, a time when a wind of innovation is blowing in the service of the humanization of psychiatry, and in the many activities related to his research, he has the opportunity to offer different therapeutic systems to patients. This is how he conducted his first experiments with music, dance, painting, drawing and contact.

Based on the positive effects that were observed, he lays the first foundations of his system by carefully documenting his observations. Thus, he created the opportunity to apply it in different clinical settings and to groups considered "normal" (such as his students). The whole of exercises, music and application principles is called "Psychodanza". He will later change this to “Biodanza” and will develop it into a coherent system, based on different areas of science, on the basis of continuous research and in collaboration with various collaborators.

We can therefore say that Biodanza finds its source in Toro's trajectory as a teacher, psychologist and researcher, in an existence marked by challenges, rich encounters and, above all, a human adventure of exceptional intensity.

Rolando-Toro-Araneda-Biodanza.jpg

Manifesto

We are the memory of the world.

All we have to do is remember...

which vibrates in the heart of our cells.

The fruits of summer, the luxuriance of love,

the ability to put yourself in the other person's shoes,

the touch, the courage to create,

the embrace,

that of the meeting and that of the farewell.

The salt of the sea on our skin,

the music of life,

the dance of life.

The ancestral memory

of the absolute possibility of love.

Rolando Toro Araneda

His life

​Rolando Toro Araneda is the founder of Biodanza. He was born in Concéption, Chile, on April 19, 1924.
 

After a career as a teacher in Chile between 1944 and 1957, he studied psychology and was affiliated with several universities. Among other things, he conducted research on the expression of the unconscious and different states of consciousness.

 

Between 1966 and 1973 he developed the Biodanza system, which is now world-wide.


The 1973 coup ended his activities in Chile and he was forced to leave his country. In 1974 he moved to Buenos Aires, Argentina (within the Argentine Cancer League), where he applied the Biodanza system to mastectomy patients. He is appointed Emeritus Professor at the Inter-American Open University of Buenos Aires, Argentina.

In 1979, Rolando Toro moved to Brazil where he founded a private institute of Biodanza and laid the foundations for the expansion of the system throughout Latin America. In addition, he works with psychiatric patients in hospitals and with women who have undergone a mastectomy after a breast cancer episode.

In 1989 he settled in Italy to make Biodanza known in Europe from there.

 

In 1998, he returns to Santiago de Chile, from where he leads the Biodanza movement and manages the training of the schools and the application of the methodology.

In 2006 he was named Doctor Honoris Causa of the Federal University of Paraíba (Brazil). In 2008 he was appointed emeritus professor by the Metropolitan University of Peru.

 

Rolando was also a painter and poet and published collections of poetry and psychotherapeutic essays, mainly in Spanish. In his own words, he was a poet in his deepest intimacy. One of his definitions for Biodanza is: 'the poetry of human encounter'.

Until the end of his life he contributed to the research of what he calls 'a new pedagogy of the art of living'. He wrote a letter to the Biodanza facilitators shortly before his death.

 

Rolando died on January 16, 2010 in Santiago de Chile.

Rolando-Toro-Araneda.jpg
Rolando-Toro-Araneda-Vlaamse-Biodanzaschool
Rolando-Toro-Araneda-Biodanza-opleiding
logo%20VBDS%20zonder%20tekst_edited.png

"The ultimate goal of Biodanza is to raise the level of ethical awareness, the source of which is the intelligence of the heart."

 Rolando Toro Araneda

Vlaamse-Biodanzaschool-Rolando-Toro-Araneda.jpg

Being someone

It's about time I got around to being someone.

It's time for the tiger, the child, the bee, to appear within me,

the moment comes to be a river, flowing waters,

committed to the destination.

It was about time, after the Age of Triumph, after

the dikes dry with sorrow, after

the fear of being left behind,

I have arrived at the time of the jasmines.

It's about the hour that I come to be somebody,

so anonymous, so light,

like the stalks of bamboo.

Rolando Toro Araneda, from the poetry collection "deUnique Noot"

bottom of page

top of page
RTA MOVES.jpg

Rolando Toro Araneda

fondateur de Biodanza

"La biodanza a commencé discrètement dans ma vie. Puis elle a progressivement pris de l'ampleur, suscité l'intérêt des gens, provoqué des changements surprenants chez certains participants et, surtout, créé un sentiment de renaissance et d'espoir dans la vie."

 

"La vie de chaque personne est un acte de création à chaque instant et confine donc à l'extraordinaire. L'amour lui-même est une expression créative de sa personnalité."

Rolando Toro Araneda

Issu d'une famille d'éducateurs, Toro lui-même enseigne depuis des années dans des écoles de divers endroits du Chili. Il découvre que dans de nombreuses écoles, il n'y a aucun lien entre les élèves et la matière proposée. La vision didactique de Toro s'est concentrée sur de nouvelles formes d'apprentissage basées sur l'expérience directe de la vie. Mais la valeur particulière de la méthode de Toro était l'affectivité et le plaisir d'apprendre et de vivre comme une impulsion. Ici, il a déjà abordé la source de la motivation intrinsèque : profiter et apprendre d'une connexion humaine sur un thème qui vous réchauffe.

 

Cela n'excluait pas les disciplines de nature intellectuelle. Il s'agissait d'intégrer l'intelligence à l'affectivité (respect de soi et des autres et travail en commun). Cette méthodologie aboutira plus tard à ce que l'on retrouve dans la Biodanza comme « méthode vivenciale ou biocentrique » et à partir de laquelle il développera le concept d'Intelligence Affective.

 

Il a également accordé une attention particulière au développement des capacités créatives de ses élèves et il a toujours cherché des opportunités pour donner à tous les talents innés des enfants et des jeunes l'espace pour se développer.

 

Le pas vers la psychologie en découlait logiquement. A la fin des années 1960, époque où souffle un vent d'innovation au service de l'humanisation de la psychiatrie, et dans les nombreuses activités liées à ses recherches, il a l'opportunité de proposer différents systèmes thérapeutiques aux patients. C'est ainsi qu'il mène ses premières expériences avec la musique, la danse, la peinture, le dessin et le contact.

 

Sur la base des effets positifs observés, il pose les premières bases de son système en documentant soigneusement ses observations. Ainsi, il a créé l'opportunité de l'appliquer dans différents contextes cliniques et à des groupes considérés comme "normaux" (comme ses étudiants). L'ensemble des exercices, de la musique et des principes d'application s'appelle "Psicodanza". Il le changera plus tard en « Biodanza » et le développera en un système cohérent, basé sur divers domaines scientifiques, sur la base d'une recherche continue et en collaboration avec divers collaborateurs.

 

 On peut donc dire que la Biodanza trouve sa source dans la trajectoire de Toro en tant qu'enseignant, psychologue et chercheur, dans une existence marquée par des défis, des rencontres riches et, surtout, une aventure humaine d'une intensité exceptionnelle.

Rolando-Toro-Araneda-Biodanza.jpg

Manifeste

 

Nous sommes la mémoire du monde.

Il ne nous reste plus qu'à nous souvenir...

qui vibre au cœur de nos cellules.

Les fruits de l'été, la luxuriance de l'amour,

la capacité de se mettre à la place de l'autre,

le toucher, le courage de créer,

l'étreinte,

celle de la rencontre et celle de l'adieu.

Le sel de la mer sur notre peau,

la musique de la vie,

la danse de la vie.

La mémoire ancestrale

de la possibilité absolue de l'amour.

Rolando Toro Araneda

Sa vie

​Rolando Toro Araneda est le fondateur de Biodanza. Il est né à Concéption, au Chili, le 19 avril 1924.

 

Après une carrière d'enseignant au Chili entre 1944 et 1957, il étudie la psychologie et est affilié à plusieurs universités. Il a entre autres mené des recherches sur l'expression de l'inconscient et les différents états de conscience.

 

Entre 1966 et 1973, il a développé le système Biodanza, qui est maintenant mondial.

 

Le coup d'État de 1973 a mis fin à ses activités au Chili et il a été contraint de quitter son pays. En 1974, il s'installe à Buenos Aires, en Argentine (au sein de la Ligue argentine contre le cancer), où il applique le système Biodanza aux patientes ayant subi une mastectomie. Il est nommé professeur émérite à l'Université ouverte interaméricaine de Buenos Aires, Argentine.

 

En 1979, Rolando Toro s'installe au Brésil où il fonde un institut privé de Biodanza et jette les bases de l'expansion du système dans toute l'Amérique latine. De plus, il travaille avec des patients psychiatriques dans les hôpitaux et avec des femmes qui ont subi une mastectomie après un épisode de cancer du sein.

 

En 1989, il s'installe en Italie pour y faire connaître la Biodanza en Europe.

 

En 1998, il est retourné à Santiago du Chili, d'où il a dirigé le mouvement Biodanza et dirigé la formation des écoles et l'application de la méthodologie.

En 2006, il a été nommé docteur honoris causa de l'Université fédérale de Paraíba (Brésil). En 2008, il a été nommé professeur émérite par l'Université métropolitaine du Pérou.

 

Rolando était également peintre et poète et a publié des recueils de poésie et d'essais psychothérapeutiques, principalement en espagnol. Selon ses propres mots, il était un poète dans son intimité la plus profonde. L'une de ses définitions de la Biodanza est : « la poésie de la rencontre humaine ».

 

Jusqu'à la fin de sa vie, il contribua à la recherche de ce qu'il appelle « une nouvelle pédagogie de l'art de vivre ». Il a écrit une lettre aux animateurs de Biodanza peu avant sa mort.

 

Rolando est décédé le 16 janvier 2010 à Santiago du Chili.

Rolando-Toro-Araneda.jpg
Rolando-Toro-Araneda-Vlaamse-Biodanzaschool
Rolando-Toro-Araneda-Biodanza-opleiding
logo%20VBDS%20zonder%20tekst_edited.png

"Le but ultime de la Biodanza est d'élever le niveau de conscience éthique, dont la source est l'intelligence du cœur."

 Rolando Toro Araneda

Vlaamse-Biodanzaschool-Rolando-Toro-Araneda.jpg

Être quelqu'un

Il est temps que je devienne quelqu'un.

Il est temps pour le tigre, l'enfant, l'abeille, d'apparaître en moi,

le moment vient d'être une rivière, des eaux qui coulent,

commis à la destination.

Il était temps, après l'Age du Triomphe, après

les digues s'assèchent de douleur, après

la peur d'être laissé pour compte,

Je suis arrivé au temps des jasmins.

C'est à peu près l'heure où je deviens quelqu'un,

si anonyme, si léger,

comme les tiges de bambou.

Rolando Toro Araneda, du recueil de poésie "deUnique Noot"

bottom of page